SVHEF Awards Spring Scholarships, Over $36,000

Scholarships were awarded to sixteen students enrolled in post-secondary education courses via Danville Community College, Old Dominion University online, and Southside Virginia Community College.  In addition, nineteen students enrolled in Workforce Training programs offered at the Higher Education Center received scholarship funds.  Since the Fall of 2023, the Southern Virginia Higher Education Foundation (SVHEF) has thus awarded over $60,000.00 for students living in Halifax, Mecklenburg, and Charlotte Counties.

The SVHEF offers five scholarships available for any field of study: Ann Chesley Edmunds Scholarship, Old Dominion Electric Cooperative (ODEC) Scholarship, Dr. W. Joseph Memorial Scholarship, Wilson Memorial Scholarship and The Foundation Scholarship.  Some scholarships available through the SVHEF are for specific areas of study like: the Leggett Scholarship supports Business, Virginia Penick Estate Scholarship supports Education.  Two scholarships are for those pursuing a career in Heathcare: the Hope-Tone Scholarship and the Dr. Bill Bell Medical Education Scholarship.

The Wilson Memorial Scholarship was awarded to Rodrick Womack, a Truck Driving School Student and Benjamin Langford enrolled in General Studies.

Emily Lloyd, enrolled in Science, was awarded the Hope-Tone Scholarship.

Two students were awarded the Ann Chesley Edmunds Scholarship: Daniell Rigg who is studying Business Management and Jacob Cook studying Computer Science.

The ODEC Scholarship was awarded to Blake Wilkerson who is enrolled in General Studies.

Many students received awards from multiple SVHEF scholarship funds: The Hope-Tone Scholarship and the W. Joseph Memorial Scholarships were awarded to Jeff Chitwood studying Emergency Medical Services and Cheyenne Francisco who is studying Science.  The Leggett Scholarship and the Dr. W. Joseph Memorial Scholarship was awarded to Kearston Duffey who is studying Medical Office Assistance and Raeanne Hudson who enrolled in General Studies.  The Wilson Memorial Scholarship and the Dr. W. Joseph Memorial Scholarship was awarded to Zachary Jackson studying Information Technology Networking and Mya Martin studying Education.  The Dr. Bill Bell Memorial Scholarship and the Dr. W. Joseph Memorial Scholarship was awarded to Courtney Link who is studying Science.

The Dr. W. Joseph Memorial Scholarship was awarded to four additional applicants: Sheryl Spinner studying Nursing, Linora Bekirova studying Certified Nurse Assistant, Katelynn Snead majoring in Early Childhood Education, and Zachary Perkins who is majoring in Computer Science.

Scholarships designated to Workforce Training programs like Information Technology, Welding, and HVAC are: Mark T. Trickey Memorial Scholarship by Comfort Systems USA MidAtlantic, J. E. Burton Construction Scholarship, Elliott Electric, Inc. Scholarship, and the Microsoft Scholarship.

The J. E. Burton Scholarship supported HVAC students: Bruce Terrell, Bradford Carden, Hunter Groves, Deontae Hamlett, Randall Heard.

The Elliott Electric Inc, Scholarship supported HVAC students: Dominic Chandler, Jordan Layne.  Also, the Elliott Electric, Inc. Scholarship supported IT students: Cameron Jones and Jeffrey Smith.

The Foundation Scholarship was awarded to Toney Wilkins -Welding IV and IT Academy students Blake D’Amato and Donna Williamson.

The Microsoft Scholarship was awarded to IT Academy Students: Muhsin Brickhouse, Malik Cook, Shaquay James, Dwana Poma, and Andrew Terry.

Applications for the Summer 2024 semester are due April 1st.  The SVHEF Scholarship Application is available online at or students may pick up a paper copy located at the SVHEF office.  Fall Scholarship applications are due by July 1st.  All applications must include a personal essay, and two letters of recommendation.

The Southern Virginia Higher Education Foundation provides year-round scholarship opportunities for students enrolled through the higher education center located in South Boston, VA. For more information contact SVHEF Scholarships and Outreach Coordinator Liza Fulton 434-572-5448 or email